Mommy Needs A Time-Out

I have been planning a little getaway with the girls and it is coming up in October and I am super excited. I can’t tell you how much I need to relax and unwind far away from the kids and the husband! Yes, I want to leave the kids and the hubby at home and I’m not phased by this. Mommy needs a 3 night time-out away from the household.

I’ll be traveling to Umhlanga in Kwazulu Natal with two of my cousins and a friend and we are staying for 3 nights. We would leave Johannesburg early in the morning and are traveling by road. I love a good road trip.

I look forward to being on the beach in a really nice swimsuit, something sexy since I’ve last 15kgs over the past year. Can I call myself a yummy mummy? I certainly think so. I have not decided if I want to bikini or one piece since my mom-tum just won’t let me be great but hey I’m still working on it.

Most of the planning is done and accommodation is booked. All that’s left to do is the shopping and packing then off we go. So, what’s the plan for the kids and their dad? I actually don’t know. Fortunately the nanny will be around so dad won’t be too stressed “babysitting” for the entire weekend by himself. I had to rolled my eyes as I typed that out. I say “babysitting” because that’s what he thinks it means to be left alone with the kids, I mean you’re just being a dad, chill out.

It will be my first vacation away from the family. My last vacation in December 2016 was a big family trip. My parents, my kids my twin sister and her three kids, my younger sister and my husband were all there and it was great. Five kids between the ages of 18months and 6 years old at the time all together was chaotic. Feeding them, bathing them, getting them dressed and getting them into the car was a mission to be handled with so much precision that you would forget that we were actually on holiday.

Anyway, I thinks it’s a good idea to get time away as a mom sometimes to rejuvenate and reflect. I have not done a full trip away but my time away from home is normally spent at the gym a few times a week. I often sleep in on a weekend just to have some alone time once dad has left the room. Other times when I’m alone are in the car after doing the school run with my son and my on trip back home from the office. Not so luxurious but a lot of thinking can be done on that 45 minute drive in Joburg peak traffic.

I work a full time job and it is very exhausting. I’m already feeling the fatigue towards year end that makes my mind and body very sluggish and going on this trip before the big December break will help refresh and restore the mind and body for the remaining months of 2017. I know there a a lot of working moms like myself and even full time moms who just need a little break and it’s okay! Don’t put off having time for yourself and the things you want to do as that will only leave you feeling worse than you may already be feeling in the long run. Just do you for a little bit.

Leave a comment